Wascana Freewheelers 2023 Annual General Meeting

April 21, 2024

Cathedral Neighbourhood Centre, 5:30 pm

Present: Gordon Kerfoot, Geoff Ellis, Kitt Kelly, Cheryl Camillo, Velda Back, Lou Schwindt, Patti Walker, Ian McIntosh, Ian Toms, Barbara Shouronis, Collette Forbes, Tamela Friesen, Brenda Schuster, Jim Tenford, Lee Ubell, Peggy Martin McGuire, Brenda Ziolkowski, Loanne Myrah, Larry Quinn, Jennifer Tenford, Rob Beug, Judy Winchester, Rhonda Schondelmier, Alison Purdy, Steve Greve

Chair: Geoff Ellis

Secretary: Peggy Martin McGuire

Welcome and call to order 5:50 pm

Approval of Agenda – Motion to approve the agenda Cheryl and Velda approved

Approval of Last Year's AGM meeting Minutes (2022) – Motion to approve Ian Toms, Lou Schwindt, approved

Business arising from last year's AGM – none, spelling corrections for two names, Marian Perry and Ron Keall

President's report

Presented by Geoff Ellis. Highlights:

55 members for 2023, 23 members this year so far. Kitt Kelly did a membership poster, and revamped website. We need a conversation about whether the website is still useful, however, as more people are using Facebok and CycleClub App. These are good promotional tools.

Thank you to the executive for last four years, as Geoff moves to past president.

Financial Report

Ian McIntosh, Treasurer for 2023.

We currently have \$4300 in bank. Operations membership revenue \$454

MAP grant - \$1300 = covers operational/admin costs. \$2/ per member. \$457 in expenses

MAP grant has covered expenses last few years, Comes from lottery system.

Motion to approve the financial report for 2023. Ian McIntosh moves, Steve Greve seconds. Approved.

Additional financial motions

Motion – Members agree to waive the audit requirement for the year ending December 31, 2023. Moved by Ian McIntosh, Seconded by Barbara Shouronis. Approved.

Motion to waive the requirement for a review engagement of the financial statements for the year ending December 31, 2023. Moved by Ian McIntosh, Seconded by Loanne Myrah, Approved.

Executive

Election of Officers for 2024: The term for all officers is one year however they may stand for reelection if they wish. As President, Ian expects he will complete more than one year in the role if the Club chooses to re-elect him. With Ian's move from VP to President a Vice President is needed to train to move into that position at the end of Ian Toms' current term.

lan Toms moves to approve/re-elect 2024 executive, Cheryl Camillo seconds. Approved.

Ian Toms, President

Geoff Ellis, Past President

Treasurer, Ian McIntosh

Secretary, Peggy Martin McGuire

Communications, Kitt Kelly

Weekend Ride coordinator, Jim McGrane

Ian Toms nominates Jim Tenford for Wednesday Night Ride Coordinator. Nomination accepted. Barbara Shouronis seconds the nomination.

No further nominations. Elected.

The Vice President position is also vacant. This person supports the President, promotes the club, learns the role, provides coordination among executive.

Nominations open. Barbara Shouronis nominates Brenda Schuster, who declines. No further nominations.

Ian T: As the VP position remains vacant we need to recruit for someone to take on this role. Without one, the President stays too long – VP, President, Past President.

Peggy Martin McGuire as Secretary has indicated to the executive that after many years in the role she will not stand for re-election in 2025.

lan McIntosh as Treasurer has indicated that after 12 years in his role he will not stand for reelection in 2025.

Willing candidates will need to be recruited for both these roles this year.

Ian Toms thanks Gordon Kerfoot for his many years of service on the executive.

New Business

The trailer is being repaired and insured.

There is general discussion of planned and proposed club events, such as:

May long Weekend – Riding Mountain

June 1: Gone with the Wind (need a driver)

June 8: Proposed Condie ride (Cheryl Camillo)

July 1: Proposed Get Loaded for Canada Day (Ian Toms)

August 10/11: Avonlea day trip or optional overnight excursion (Lee/Lou Pitzel)

Motion to Adjourn: Moved by Velda Back, Seconded by Brenda Schuster. Approved.

Meeting concluded 6:23 pm